Home Page


At Holy Trinity & St John’s we teach the children the national curriculum. This sets out the programme of study and attainment targets for all subjects. As a local authority school we must teach the subjects in accordance with the national curriculum.


1.  Overview of the national curriculum


The basic school curriculum includes the 'national curriculum' as well as religious and sex education.

The national curriculum is a set of subjects and standards used by primary and secondary school so children learn the same things.  It covers what subjects are taught and the standards children should reach in each subject.


Key Stages


The national curriculum is organised into blocks of years called 'key stages' (KS).  At the end of each key stage, the teacher will formally assess your child's performance.


Children  3 - 4 years - Early Years

Children 4 - 5 years - Reception and Early Years

The teachers will assess your child, with an optional assessment at the start of the year.


Children 5 - 6 years - In year 1 your child will take a phonics screening check

Children 6 - 7 years - In year 2 your child will take national tests and teacher assessments in English, maths and science.

KEY STAGE 2 - Year 3 - 6

Children 7 - 11 years -

In year 6 your child will take national tests and teacher assessments in English and maths and teacher assessment in science



Year 1 phonics screening check

The check will take place in June when your child will read 40 words out loud to a tacher.  You will find out how your child did, and their teacher will assess whether he or she needs extra help with reading.  If your child doesn't do well enough in the check they will have to do it again in Year 2.


Key Stage 1 - the tests cover English reading, English grammar, punctuation and spelling and maths.

Your child will take the tests in May.  You can ask the school for the test results.

You will be sent the results of your child's teacher assessments automatically.


Key Stage 2 - your child will take national tests in May when they reach the end of key stage 2.  These test your child's skills in English reading, English grammar, puncutation and spelling and maths.


The tests last less than 4 hours and you will get the results in July.

The school will send you the results of your child's tests and teacher assessments.


More information about the national curriculum can be found on the following website.



What does your child learn each term? Below are the year group curriculum plans. These are an outline of what the children will be covering in basic detail. They will be edited as we go through this academic year.



Calculation Policy
Knowing your number facts
Maths in the Early Years